Answers to Questions


There’s  been a lot of questions lately about giving and tithing.  One of the questions I recently received was: “Can I tithe my time rather than tithe my money to the church?”

Answer: Yes, you can tithe your time, BUT not as a replacement to tithing your money to the church.  Jesus said, “where your money is, there your heart will be also.”  Notice that Jesus did not say, “where your time is also.”  Money is an indicator of where our hearts really are.  The great evangelist Billy Graham said, “Our checkbooks are our theological documents.  They tell us what we truly worship. ”  

Rationalizing tithing our time instead of giving our money to the church is just an excuse to not give our money.  If you are looking for an excuse to not give, it’s easy to find one.

Question to ponder: “When it comes to tithing, where is my heart right now?”

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment